I live to eat · Our life

A mix of summer and fall for dinner…

It’s September 1st and I’m craving comfort food.  Or maybe it’s the baby craving it.

What’s that? You missed that my lovely husband and I are having a little one come February?  Hooray!  This means blog posts about nursery design and baby gear are sure to follow.  I’m now a few weeks into my second trimester and honestly have had ZERO energy to put into blogging the last few months.  But things seem to be looking up.

Fall is coming and I’ve suddenly been flooded with visions of  hot soups, cinnamon-orange scented candles, warm sweaters and riding boots.  At the same time, I don’t want to give up summer.  In the northwest it seems we had a bit of a short one.  It’s times like these where I need the best of both worlds- fall comfort dinner and summer fresh dessert.

Chris is busy working now that fall sports have started, which means I get many weekend nights to myself and my computer.  Don’t feel bad for me, I actually really like it.  I could spend hours on this laptop just searching random things.  His work schedule means I get dinner by myself also. It’s always the perfect opportunity to make things that he doesn’t prefer, so tonight I decided to head to the store for the makings for tuna noodle casserole- with a slight substitution.  I can only have a certain amount of tuna fish per week, and even that makes me nervous, so I opted for chicken instead

I combined a few different recipes for a method all my own.  It was super easy.  Keep in mind this is no where close to gourmet cooking and would definitely not impress the Master Chef judges, but it’s comfort food nonetheless.

Chicken Noodle Casserole

2-3 cups egg noodles- cooked and drained

1  10 ounce can cooked chicken

1 can cream of mushroom soup

½ cup milk

1/8 teaspoon black pepper (more if you’d like)

½ cup shredded parmesan cheese

Crushed Ritz crackers for topping

  1. Cook the egg noodles according to package directions
  2. Combine egg noodles, chicken, cream of mushroom soup, milk, black pepper, and parmesan cheese into a 1.5-2 qt casserole dish.
  3. Sprinkle crushed Ritz crackers on top
  4. Bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes

 

 

For dessert I combined some Strawberry Sorbet, frozen blueberries, and fresh strawberries.  I poured myself a hot cup of Calypso Rooibos tea to balance the coldness of the sorbet.  Yummy!!!

Next I plan of making a recipe from my aunt- Mexican Meatball Soup with Cilantro!

What are your favorite comfort food recipes?

 

 

I'm Inspired...

