Baby T · Home Decor · Painting · Projects · Uncategorized

The Nursery Gets Some Paint!

20121017-224709.jpg

So now that we know we’re having a little boy, we’ve been able to narrow down some paint colors.

For our master bathroom we purchased about 10 different color samples, but luckily with this project we were able to narrow it down to four colors. We did two Lowe’s Olympic and two Home Depot Behr samples. I have almost learned that rather than going and getting more paint samples, I must decide on the one I like best, and I’ll eventually get used to it.

Left to right: Behr Anonymous, Behr Sparrow, Olympic Steeple Gray, Olympic Flagstone

HD’s Behr has been the winner for the kitchen, powder room, and master bedroom. For the nursery we chose Behr’s Premium Plus paint because it is Low-Odor and Zero-VOC and supposedly “self-priming”. The Premium Plus Ultra has the paint and primer in one, but because there was basic white paint as a base, we didn’t feel the Ultra would provide any extra benefit. And it had only Low-VOC, instead of zero.

First task was to tape off all the trim and the ceiling. I put myself in charge of this because I have control issues have excellent taping skills. For this painting project I chose to use Sure-tape Frog Tape. Janell at House of Fifty raves about it, and I have to say I totally agree with her accolades of the product. It creates such a clean line!

Frog Tape is Fab!

It took three coats to make everything look even. For some reason paint dries with more blue undertones on our walls. This paint looks like a very true light gray in the can, but on the wall it dries with blue, and even purple undertones. As always, it will take me a while to get used to the color but I know I’ll be really happy with it when all the furniture and brightly colored accessories adorn the nursery!

Here is what I was going for…..

Here is what we got….

Grey Walls during the day
Gray walls at night. Ditto almost blends in.

Now for the furniture and accesories shopping. My mother in law and I mysteriously picked out the same fabric this weekend, and we weren’t even together. Her’s is to make Baby T a quilt, and mine will be to make the crib skirt, changing pad cover, and bookshelf bench cushion cover. Great minds think alike.

Here is my Polyvore set I’ve been working on as an idea board for the nursery:

Baby Boy T's Nursery ideas

LOVE?

I'm Inspired...