Baby T · Our life · Uncategorized

Our first Citrus Lane box is here!

Oh the anticipation!  I remember reading the blog Self Professed Product Obsessed last year and she mentioned Birch Box, a monthly beauty product subscription box you get in the mail, filled with all sorts of beauty goodies.  Then, when I was pregnant with Oscar I saw Citrus Lane somewhere, either on Pinterest or the internet.  For months I’ve been wanting to sign up, but couldn’t bring myself to actually do it.  $25 can be a lot of money per month if the goods aren’t worth it.  When one of the other mommies in my local Mom-Baby Facebook group took the plunge first, I dove in after.  Of course I had to make a deal with the devil my husband in order to do it.  (The deal was I would only eat out for lunch at work 2 days a week.  Eh hem…I only work 4 days a week.  Soooo hard, right? Plus if I save 1 day each week for 2weeks, I get 3 days the third week. But only the third week, as extra days do not carry over to consecutive weeks.  Savvy?) Using the code: TAKEHALF we paid only $12.50 for our first box.  It requires a monthly subscription but you can cancel at any time.  We waited a whole month for this first box to come, from the time we signed up to the time it arrived in our mailbox.  I was ridiculously excited about getting little goodies delivered right to our door for Baby O! So here’s how Box #1 played out.

I got home late the day it arrived so first I requested we wait until morning to open it as a family.  

Photo Jun 21, 7 40 33 AM

The signature box with the butter yellow tissue paper and little Citrus Lane logo sticker. I had only heard about it, and I now I was getting to see it with my own eyes.  What was going to be under that tissue paper?  Would it be fabulous items that would make Oscar’s life so much better? Toys and bags and yum yums?

Photo Jun 21, 7 40 44 AM

Ta-da!!!

Except for totally anticlimactic. Literally, because the excitement was over within a minute.

Cue sad trombone. 

It’s exactly like Christmas, where you’re super excited to open all the gifts under the tree that are yours.  There is a frenzy of paper ripping and tossing, and then….it’s over.  As soon as it started.

Photo Jun 22, 10 14 35 AM

Let’s break down the box:

1. iPlay Sun Hat (Size Birth-6 months).  A reversible sun protection hat with UVA and UVB ray protection. Great for Oscar since he’s so extremely fair and we can’t yet use sunscreen on him.  (Before we got the box in the mail Chris’ mom actually bought the same size bigger hat. I told her Citrus Lane must have excellent taste) Read more about iPlay babywear here

2. Boon Odd Ducks bath toy. BPA, Phthalate, and PVC free and do not hold water, so there is no risk of black mold growing inside. We used it in O’s bath last night and it cutishly bobbed up and down. Read more about Boon bath toys here

3. happybaby Organic baby food- Sweet Potato. No GMO’s, Minimal processing, certified organic, and a BPA free pouch- great for on the go.  Ingredients: Organic Sweet Potato and water.  Seriously, that’s it!  O still has about two months before we’ll introduce solids, but I’ve heard sweet potato is the one to go with.  And this pouch is single ingredient which is perfect for his first bites of real food.  Read more about happybaby organic baby food here

4. Susan Brown’s Baby Foot Therapy Cream (full-size) and samples of Sensitive Baby Nourishing Lotion and Sensitive Baby Diaper Therapy Cream.  How did they know my feet need some attention? The samples of the baby lotion and diaper therapy cream are both fragrance free and Paraben and Phthalate free.  The only thing I couldn’t figure out is if the diaper therapy cream is safe for cloth diapers.  I think it would be because it is oil free and just has Shea, Jojoba, Moringa, and Cocoa butters as ingredients.  No zinc oxide in this formula, although it looks like on the website you can get an ointment that does have zinc oxide.  Love that they are based in Chandler, AZ too- right down the street from my mom’s house.  Read more about Susan Brown’s Baby products here

Photo Jun 21, 7 42 16 AM
O man ready for the beach. Ignore the fact that he just woke up and is in his comfy snug PJ suit.

Well there you have it.  

At first I wasn’t super impressed, but after looking on the websites for these products and seeing that we really received $45 worth of products for $12.50, I think we’ll try the subscription for another couple of months.  

Use the link below to start your Citrus Lane subscription. Apparently, we’ll both get $10 for sharing the love.  =) Also use the TAKEHALF code I posted above for 1/2 off your first box.

Invited by InspiredDomesticity

What do you think of your box subscription? Citrus Lane or otherwise..

I'm Inspired...

