Home Decor · kitchen

Glass bottle vases for my kitchen window!

A couple of years ago I bought a little cactus for our kitchen window.  I was feeling vacation-sick for Arizona. It sat in its little pot for a couple of years, surviving my not-so-green thumb.  It was time for it to be in a bigger pot with other succulent friends, so this spring I transplanted it into a bigger pot with other cacti and succulents.   Since then our kitchen windowsill has been a little bare.  A couple of weeks ago it was taken over by new Oscar trainer cups and bottle brushes.  Uh…hold it right there.  I may be a mom, but I need my happy windowsill back.  Fall is coming (as noted by the foggy mornings and cloudy days we’ve been starting to have) and I decided I need something pleasant to look at while spending my time washing dishes.

Back in May, we went to our dear friends wedding in Vancouver, BC.  At the hotel they had 355ml glass bottles of Diet Coke (or Coke Diete for all you french speaking Canadians) and Canada Dry Ginger Ale.  I loved the colors of the ginger ale bottle and, as you may or may not know, I love Diet Coke (or Coca-Cola Light for all you spanish speaking Americans).  So, I brought the bottles home.  Such unique and fancy bottles couldn’t go to waste.

They sat in our kitchen for a while until a trip to JoAnn’s inspired me.  Floral pieces were something like 70% off.  I found a lovely set of clementine colored poppies.  On Friday I found a almost beet red set of flowers for 50% off.

Here’s what I came up with.

glass bottle vases

I took the two glass bottles and put each of my floral stems in them. I like how the ones on the left are a bit taller than the ginger ale ones.  On the diet coke bottle I hung my little lady bug that a friend gave to me for my birthday.  I think it was supposed to go in my outside pots but she’s pretty content to hang out among the diet coke and flowers.  I also took one of my vintage Indiana Glass King’s Crown green goblets that we used for Oscars baptism and re-purposed it for our window.  The IKEA PS tealight holder is broken up, using only half of it on the windowsill.

glass bottle vases (2)

glass bottle vases (4)

glass bottle vases (5)

One thought on “Glass bottle vases for my kitchen window!

I'm Inspired...

