I live to eat

It’s Finally Fall- And Time for Soup!

We are used to Northwest fall weather- crisp mornings, rainy mid-Octobers, and beautiful oranges, reds, and yellows.  So far in Denver this fall the weather has been sunny, warm (upper 70’s to mid 80’s), and generally brown with hints of yellow.  I miss home….terribly.

Photo Oct 22, 5 22 15 PM
Photo graciously provided by CPT
Photo Oct 22, 5 22 36 PM
Photo graciously provided by CPT
Photo Oct 22, 5 24 21 PM
Photo graciously provided by CPT

This week has just started to feel like fall around here.  It’s been raining the last two days and he colors in our new neighborhood have really started to turn.  There is a huge leafy tree (have no idea what its called) that turned a deep shade of red this week.  Leaves are falling on the ground, coating cars and the sidewalks.  We turned the heat on for the first time today.  Made me want to snuggle on the couch with a blanket and a hot cup of tea.

Since I had the day off I decided I’d make some soup.  Something hearty to get us into the fall spirit.  When my mother in law came to visit us last February, when we were all sicker than dogs, she made a lovely Dutch meatball soup. I had her email me over the recipe today so I could go get all the goods at the store.

Photo Oct 22, 4 48 49 PM

Made with ground beef or turkey, chicken stock, veggies and vermicelli pasta, it’s like chicken noodle with with tiny meatballs.  I gave my Rada chef knife a good sharpen and diced some carrots, celery, and onion.   Can someone please get me some onion goggles for Christmas.  It stings and I cry….EVERY TIME.    Anyway, I sure do love my Rada knives.  They were a wedding present from some friends of my Auntie’s and although they’ve lost their bright brushed silver lustre they still cut like a dream. My Rada veggie peeler is my favorite too. I have an OXO one that always jams and the handle hits when peeling most everything too.  No jamming and seemless peeling with the Rada- I highly recommend it.    Just remember- Because of their finish, Rada knives are hand wash only!

Photo Oct 22, 4 48 36 PM
Ready to peel and chop!
Photo Oct 22, 5 18 54 PM
Hello Rada
Photo Oct 22, 5 06 42 PM
My lame attempt at showing my fake chopping skills. One of these days I’ll be as slick as a masterchef chef.

Making the meatballs was fairly easy.  Cornmeal, ground beef, worcestershire, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Roll ’em up into marble size balls.  Started strong…

Photo Oct 22, 4 48 30 PM

20 minutes later I had all of these!

Photo Oct 22, 5 26 13 PM

Aaaannnd…..that’s all I have. Because I just got to cooking and forgot to take pictures of the finished product! And then we ate it. More like slurped it. Plenty of leftovers, which my mother in law says are great for freezing.  This was a great rainy night dinner which I’m sure we’ll make again.


Here’s the full recipe (credit to Sandie, but not sure where the original came from)

DUTCH MEATBALL SOUP
INGREDIENTS: 
1 LB. ground beef or turkey 
1 Tbsp. panko or regular breadcrumbs
Couple shakes of Worcestershire sauce
½ tsp. salt
½ tsp. garlic powder
½ tsp. black pepper
8 cups of chicken stock
2 cups of cut up vegetables (small dice)– carrots, celery, onions (whatever you like)
Vermicelli (very thin spaghetti) – about ¼ – ½ of the package.
Mix the meat with the breadcrumbs, Worcestershire, and seasonings.  Roll small meatballs – about the size of a marble.  (Makes a lot J)
In the meantime, heat the stock to a slow boil.  Add the raw vegetables and simmer for about 20 minutes.  Then, add about 10 raw meatballs in the stock, wait 10 seconds, then add some more – until they’re all in the soup.  The meatballs are done when they start to float – within a minute or two.
Break up the uncooked vermicelli into about 3” pieces and add to soup.  It will cook quickly since it’s so thin.
Taste the soup and adjust seasonings as needed.  This is one of those soups that improves with time, so feel free to make a large pot.  Great as leftovers and freezes well.

Photo Oct 22, 5 21 38 PM
Neighborhood leaves. Photo credit: CPT
Photo Oct 22, 5 23 59 PM
Photo credit: CPT

Soon enough we’ll have a fire going in our fireplace and it’ll be snowing outside.  I’m sure I’ll have more non-original cozy recipes to come.  What are your favorite fall recipes?

I'm Inspired...

