I live to eat

Onion Goggles are the way to go! (Mexican Meatball Soup Reblog)

I thought I was being all creative in wanting to blog about my Mexican Meatball Soup. That is until I searched my existing posts and realized that I blogged about this delicious meal over three years ago.  Guess that means it’s a favorite, right?  (Or I’m just getting really dull in my posts).

In fact, I had to reprint the recipe because my original copy was getting a little hard to read. 

meatballsouprecipe

You can read the original post below, but I thought I’d throw in some fun additions.

I got a hilarious text from one of my very best friends the other night. She was wearing her sons safety goggles to help her chop onions. She was having to chop a million of them for a chili fest that night and in order to get through it without terrible pain and strife she donned the goggles.  Damn, that is a genius idea!  How many times have I had to stop 1 minute into chopping because I am crying, sniffling uncontrollably, and squeezing my eyes shut because they are stinging so badly?  Who needs pepper spray when you can just put a cut onion in my face? I’ve seen those funny looking goggles marketed specifically for cutting onions.  I think they are usually in the “As Seen on TV” section.  

Onion Goggles on Amazon for $7.95

Maybe I was being macho, or maybe I didn’t want to waste my money, but I tell you what, when I saw my bestie don her personal protective equipment, that was all I needed to say, ‘It’s ok”.   And so did my other besties!   And it really really worked!   A little sniffling, but zero stinging or crying!

LADIES- go ahead, don your onion goggles!  Whether it be your two year old’s costume goggles, safety goggles like you wore in 8th grade science, or ski goggles, we stand beside you and in solidarity! 

oniongoggles

Seriously though, it’s the way to go!

Why the onion goggles bit you ask?

I make Mexican Meatball Soup about once a year.  It’s perfect for fall and winter.  This year I made some changes to give it a little more flavor.  I used Chorizo instead of regular bulk sausage and medium salsa instead of mild.  The salsa definitely gave it a little kick.  It called for over two cups of onions, so I had to get to chopping.

Photo Nov 01, 6 22 22 PM
Meatball makings: Cumin, Cornmeal, Salt, Pepper, ground beef, ground chorizo, onions, garlic, cilantro, egg, and whole milk. Squish it all together and make 1″ meatballs to drop into the soup. YUMMY!

This year, O was able to help me “make” meatballs. When he wasn’t busy flying around our galley kitchen lining up each of his shoes and loading his car carrier, he just held the scoop and slopped some meat in the meatball bowl.  The fact that he actually stood on the step stool with me makes it a win!

Photo Nov 01, 6 15 56 PM
He’s just a tiny bit OCD. Like his mother.
Photo Nov 01, 6 28 46 PM
This is what I deal with in the kitchen daily!
Photo Nov 01, 6 34 45 PM
What a great little helper he’s becoming.

_________________________________________________________________________

mexican meatball soup and corn muffins

Epicurious Mexican Meatball Soup with Rice and Cilantro

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 3/4 cups chopped onions
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 small bay leaves
  • 5 14 1/2-ounce cans beef broth
  • 1 28-ounce can diced tomatoes in juice
  • 1/2 cup chunky tomato salsa (medium-hot)
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/4 pound bulk pork sausage
  • 6 tablespoons yellow cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 cup long-grain white rice

Directions:

Heat oil in heavy large pot over medium-high heat. Add 1 3/4 cups onions, 2 garlic cloves and bay leaves; sauté 5 minutes. Add broth, tomatoes with juices, salsa and 1/4 cup cilantro; bring to boil. Cover and simmer 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine ground beef, pork sausage, cornmeal, whole milk, egg, salt, pepper, cumin, then remaining 1 cup onions, 2 garlic cloves and 1/4 cup cilantro in medium bowl. Mix well. Shape meat mixture by generous tablespoonfuls into 1- to 1 1/4-inch balls. Add rice and meatballs to soup and bring to boil, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat, cover and simmer until rice and meatballs are tender, stirring occasionally, about 20 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Ladle soup into bowls and serve.

Read More http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Mexican-Meatball-Soup-with-Rice-and-Cilantro-104467#ixzz27Fe1NuCd

Adios! 

I'm Inspired...

