DIY · Holidays · Home Decor · My Style · Our life · Uncategorized

Inspired Christmas Projects

It’s the Saturday after Thanksgiving and our house is almost completely decked for the Christmas season.  Maybe it’s our new place, or the fact that we finally feel settled in Colorado but I was beaming with holiday spirit today.  We had a wonderful Thanksgiving in the mountains and I was ready to come home and get the decorating party started.  

To set the scene, there was hot tea, a fire in the fireplace, a dining table full of felt, paper, and hot glue.  And most importantly, the Pandora Christmas station was on, complete with Gene Autry, Johnny Mathis, Dean Martin, Andy Williams, Brenda Lee,  and The Drifters (just to name a few). And don’t forget Mariah Carey’s “All I want for Christmas” which I could belt out a thousand times each season.  

Photo Nov 22, 8 32 14 PM
My dining room table threw up crafts.  At least the laptop is still running Pinterest at full steam…

Over the past week I’ve been working on DIY Christmas decor projects that I hope to show you over the next couple of weeks. Each year I seem to use holiday decor items I have in a little different way.  This year I added a few things but was able to use much of what I already had in the new place.  I was inspired by the 1980’s feel of our condo and was really feeling a vintage Christmas theme.  Not saying the 80’s is vintage- CAUSE IT’S NOT- but more feeling the 40’s-50’s vintage holiday style with maybe some 80’s mixed in.  Or maybe it’s completely my own wanderings. At any rate- I am in love so far.  

Photo Nov 28, 7 12 21 PM

Paper Source was another big inspiration for me this year.  I picked up a few items to deck the halls with, including this DIY paper “Merry and Bright” wreath.  Heads up though- it takes a bit of time to punch out all the shapes and put it all together.  It would be a super fun project for older kids or a quiet time project for moms. =) Find the wreath kit at your local Paper Source- or online here

Paper Source also gave me inspiration for my color palette this year.  I bought this package of felted wool poms, thinking I would just inspect it and make my own but it turns out it was a better deal to buy them (and probably wayyy less hassle too).  

Photo Nov 22, 4 18 50 PM
Source: Paper Source. For locations visit http://www.papersource.com

I found this super cool palette maker online where you can import a photo and find the closest matching colors.  Cream, red, teal, forest green, and avocado green are all found in this cheeky little garlard, which is hanging on my mantle as we speak.     To check out the palette maker visit: https://coolors.co/

christmascolorpallette

I carried out these colors in my door wreath, christmas tree (using existing ornaments), handmade tree skirt, mantle, and even DIY cabinet Christmas card holder.  There are accents of gold throughout these places too.  

So here’s a tiny sneak peak of my vintage condo christmas.  It’s all coming at you soon. (Well hopefully, I’m so overjoyed by the thought of Christmas that I might just lose steam here soon)

I'm Inspired...

