DIY · Holidays · Home Decor · Sewing · Uncategorized

Drop Cloth Christmas Tree Skirt

I’ve been wanting a new Christmas tree skirt since we got our 10 foot pre-lit tree from my mother in law 6 years ago.  Every year, and especially since Pinterest, I surf the web for tree skirt tutorials.  Most I’ve either disliked or couldn’t make a decision on fabric.  Several were too small or so big that you couldn’t find large enough fabric. One I loved but couldn’t find the right fabric.  WTH man? So, every year I’ve put up the same 1980’s handmade tree skirt that used to be used under my tree as a kid.  

Now I AM going with a vintage Christmas theme this year, but that little skirt just doesn’t do the trick.  It’s too tiny under our giant tree and I’m desperate for something different. 

Cue Pinterest…

I found this lovely tutorial over at Homey Home Design.  Click HERE to visit her site and the direct tutorial.  It’s really simple and thrifty.  

treesandaskirt065
Felt Christmas tree skirt tutorial @ Homey Home Design

This one uses a canvas drop cloth as the main portion of the skirt.  It’s perfect because they come in large sizes for relatively inexpensive and gives a little rustic look.  I love the neutrality of it….you could really add any color leaves or pom poms that you fancy.   And the project is fairly quick .  I think I completed mine in an afternoon (minus washing and drying the drop cloth first). 

I stuck with the colors that Jody used. Something just struck me about the gray, white and cream.  I also washed the drop cloth, per her recommendation, it does make the material a bit softer…not so stiff.  

My leaves are no where near as perfect as hers and placement gave me some pause.  I didn’t have a super amount of patience to make a perfect pattern, but I think the randomness ended up looking ok.  

Photo Nov 28, 7 06 26 PM

For a few years I considered buying a new skirt.  I found they were about $40-80, which is not A LOT of money, considering how many years one could possibly get use out of it, but I could never pull the trigger.  I think my cheap side has been taking over recently.  Or maybe my crafty side says, “that’s just too much. I can make something myself for cheaper”.  

This skirt cost around $20 to make.  I think with good care, it could last many years.  But because it isn’t a lot of money I won’t feel bad if my style changes and I want to get something new.  

Drop cloth- Everbilt 6ft x 9ft Canvas drop cloth.  $14.68 @Home Depot46780b5a-3e68-40ec-a26c-2ebf9be8e172_1000

Gray felt sheets– individual around $.50 at Joann Fabrics

White craft pom poms- around $2.50 at Joann Fabrics

Other tools needed: Sewing machine to sew far edges of drop cloth, glue sticks to attach and secure the felt leaves and white berries. 

I had plenty of fabric with the 6×9′ cloth and could’ve gone a little wider with the skirt.  My inside circle (the part the lays around the base of the tree) should’ve been a little smaller too.  But overall I am super happy with this little skirt.  It looks fantastic with our Christmas color palette and had a little rustic/vintagey feel to it.  

IMG_7771IMG_7769

IMG_7765
My helper with pictures wasn’t being very helpful.  But he’s sooooo snuggly! =)

Please, please visit Jody over at Homey Home Design- I’m not here to copy and say this skirt is my own. She did all the wonderful leg work and put together a really great tutorial. http://www.homeyhomedesign.com/2012/11/christmas-tree-skirt-tutorial.html?m=1

Show me your tree skirts!!!

One thought on “Drop Cloth Christmas Tree Skirt

  1. I need to make my own tree skirt! I have been using a silky deep red material to just drape around the base of the tree… by no means custom or crafty, but makeshift. I adore the vintage rustic look of this skirt. Well-done Inspired Domesticity!

I'm Inspired...

