Barre · I live to eat · Organizing · Our life · Uncategorized

Lifestyle Challenge Ready!

Well, maybe…

For the last three months I have been taking barre classes at my local Xtend Barre studio.  I found it on a Groupon and started going about 3 times a week.  I knew about barre classes from my Auntie and thought this would be a great way to start doing something for me.  It had been almost three years since I’d had any kind of workout routine, with lame attempts after O was born.  This studio is right across the street from my work so it’s great for a morning class or an after-work class.  And since I used to be a competitive figure skater, to do something somewhat graceful in my adulthood makes me feel really lovely about myself.

Now that I’m totally addicted (and possibly at risk for being known as the studio stalker) when I heard about their annual lifestyle challenge I decided I would sign up.   The challenge is broken down in two initial ways: Exercise and Diet/Lifestyle.  There are three levels of each, and if you like you can choose different levels for each as well.

My Challenge:

Exercise: Take 4 class a week

Diet/Lifestyle: Eliminate Processed food, 2 alcoholic drinks per week,  2 coffee/black teas a day, along with other clean eating principles.

Read ELIMINATE PROCESSED FOOD, then cue peeing in your pants. I signed up almost three weeks ago, when the thought of prizes and a fancy manual was oh-so-dreamy.  I’ve had some time to think it over and decided I’m completely afraid of failing.  I have some really terrible eating habits, am known as the resident Wine drinker at work, and have come to admit that I have a Diet Coke addiction. I’m probably jumping in way over my head. The last time Chris and I tried to do something drastic it was a three day smoothie cleanse and we quit after day one.  HOWEVER, I also think I just need a little support and guidance to get me jump started on my way to clean eating habits.

So with that all said, I thought I’d share some things I put in place this weekend to try and support me with the challenge at home.  My biggest trouble when starting any sort of “diet”, although lets please not call this a diet because I truly believe it’s more about changing my life and habits, is that I can go to the store and buy all the good food, but if it’s not prepped and ready to go the morning I need it OR if it falls in back of the overloaded pantry, then I will inevitably fail.

Organization and positivity is what I need to succeed! 

Yesterday I took a trip to HomeGoods where I bought nice little glass tupperware so I can prep and store lunches and snacks.  I bought a variety of sizes and also stocked up on ziploc bags in snack size.  My goal is to have areas in the fridge and pantry where I can grab and go with healthy snacks and pre-made lunches.  Pre-made BUT NOT processed.  It’ll definitely take planning but I think if I can set aside some time on Sundays and Thursdays this could be successful.  Football season is almost over and I lost my fantasy football league so more time shouldn’t be a problem right?

 

IMG_8103
Glass and plastic containers for storing lunch and snacks

I also picked up some clear fridge/pantry bins to store snacks and “my special food” in.  One for the pantry and one for the fridge. The fridge one is rather empty at the moment, but honestly I ran out of steam after scouring my manual, listing, and completing two grocery trips today.

IMG_8097
Fridge Bin

IMG_8098
Pantry bin. Think I need another one!

IMG_8096
Each bin has a space for dry erase marker. I chose to use it as a motivational note space

IMG_8099

The last tool put into place was to print off some positivity and place it my newly designated corner of the kitchen.  I’m hoping that when I pop down at 5am to get ready for my 6am class that this’ll keep me from wanting to just go grab a bagel at Einstein’s or a sausage biscuit at McDonalds.

 

I need to remind myself that I am doing this for a reason, not just because it’s what the in-crowd is doing but because I want to lose my baby belly, kick a Diet Coke habit, and develop a liking/mutual agreement with healthy, clean foods so that I will be able to be around for my son when he has kids of his own.  It’s also to assist with alleviating my anxiety naturally, so that one day I may not need to take medication for it.  I do not want to be motivated by fear but by the notion that I can change my body if I really want to.

As I said to my coworkers last Friday, if by day 7 I’m eating like shit again, please don’t judge me, at least I’ll still be going to classes and we know that I tried!

Here’s a cheers to the challenge! 

IMG_8104

One thought on “Lifestyle Challenge Ready!

I'm Inspired...

